Easy No Bake Protein Bars

Its January… and a new year full of promises and resolutions lies ahead…and like everyone else out there I plan on making it a healthy and happy year that counts!

So let me start by saying that I kicked off January by joining my local Gym and I love it! The classes are fab, and I have a personal trainer to help me kick my butt into shape. (he has quite the job ahead of him) Well on Saturday after an hour of Zumba I hit the sauna with my very American gal pal, who had me in fits of giggles at her conservativeness re all the nakedness around us.. she could almost pass for a Brit herself.

As I will be going to the Gym straight after dropping the kids off at kindergarten I decided to make these protein bars to have as a quick breakfast with my morning coffee before the gym. (hubby has already decided he wants in on these!)

These are as my 4 year old says “Easy peasy lemon squeazy” so heres what I used this time round.. (next time I may add Raisins or chocolate chips or chopped dates and almonds, or crushed walnuts.. you get the idea.. get as creative as you want)

Ingredients

1 cup organic Oatmeal

Half a cup natural Organic Protein Powder

Half a cup desiccated Coconut

1 Teaspoon Vanilla extract

Half cup Peanut Butter

Half Cup Agave Syrup (you could also use Honey)

Quarter Cup Chia Seeds

Method:

Warm the peanut butter and agave syrup in a pot until the peanut butter melts and is of a runnier consistency, take off the heat and add the remaining ingredients

Line a baking tray with baking paper and spread the mixture onto the paper, using your hands even out and smooth the mixture.

score the mixture using a knife into bars, or squares as you prefer and place in the fridge for about 4 hours, or overnight for best results.

img_1263

Once cooled separate and store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

