Wholemeal Cocoa & Cranberry Cookies

Hmmmmm…. I am in a new kitchen… a much smaller kitchen which yes has many mod cons but getting used to a new kitchen is like wearing those pointy stilletoes in, as in it takes time for them to start feeling comfy.

I miss the space, both the work space and dancing around space of my old kitchen..(yes I did especially if i was cooking on an evening with a glass of vino to keep me company) but enough of me whinging, If I don’t start to “wear”this kitchen in things wont change.

So most of my kitchen bits and bobs have been unpacked, I say most as not everything fitted in as this kitchen is soooo much smaller – did I mention that already – sorry!

This is a little something for those of us that want a little treat with our cups of tea or coffee but are on that dreaded word “DIET”

Cocoa & Cranberry cookies

I used wholemeal flour and sweetener to keep this as close to the SBD principles as I could.

Here’s what I used:

80g Margarine (softened)
220g wholemeal flour
1 Egg
1tsp Baking powder
half tsp Salt
3 Heaped tbsp Cocoa Powder
1 tsp Vanilla extract
3 Tbsp fluid sugar alternative
Handful dried Cranberries (roughly chopped)

Method:

Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl and mix, add all other ingredients and mix using your hands.

This will make quite a stiff dough.

Break off pieces of the dough into small balls that fit into the palm of your hand

Flatten the balls between the palms of your hand to make into circular flat cookie shapes.

Place on a baking tray and bake for 8-10 minutes until slightly brown
(the middle of the cookies may still be soft)

Place on a cooling rack and allow to cool.

Happy guilt free munching 🙂

Leave a Reply

