Carrot & Walnut Slice

Yum yum and Yum again.

Here’s something that will satisfy your cake craving without being “too” bad for you – especially if like me you substitute the sugar for a sweetener/Honey/Agave or whatever makes you feel good about avoiding actual sugar but having a treat.

Since spending quite abit (ALOT) of time at my brother in laws Cafe/Bar/Restaurant in the UK, I developed a “Slight” obsession with his carrot cake, so upon on my return back home I decided to get my Bunsen burners out and start experimenting (I am kidding about the Bunsen’s, but you all know what I mean, trawling the net, cookbooks, mother in laws notes, those folders (yes I still have them) that my husband has such a strong disliking for, basically throwing things in to make my very own version)

I decided to make this yesterday as I was heading out to a picnic with a dear friend and our kids today and thought it would make a nice treat for us all. May I add that the kids loved it too which is always a deal maker for most mommies planning meals and treats.
So here’s what I used:

175ml sunflower oil (some extra for greasing)
150g brown sugar (or sweetener as I mentioned above)
3 large eggs (beaten)
150g carrots (grated)
1 handful of walnuts (crushed into small pieces using a mortar and pestle)
85g Raisin
Grated Zest of 1 orange
175g self raising flour
1tsp bicarbonate Soda
1tsp ground cinnamon
1/2tsp grated nutmeg
175g Icing sugar
2 tbsp orange juice

Method:

Heat the oven to 180C
Grease the cake tin, base and sides
Pour the sugar, oil and eggs into a large bowl and mix, stir in the raisins, grated carrots and walnuts, in a separate bowl mix the flour bicarbonate soda and spices together and then sift into the carrot mixture and gently stir together all the ingredients until mixed.

Pour the mixture into the greased tin and bake for 40-45 minutes, until it feels firm yet springy when gently pressed. Allow to cool for 10 minutes in the tin, before taking it out and cooling on a wire rack.

Make the icing sugar as instructed on the pack adding 2 tablespoons of orange juice, or simply add the sugar to the orange juice to make a frosting. Drizzle the icing/frosting over the slice and allow to set.

Cut a slice and enjoy with your favourite hot beverage – personally I love it with a cup of tea 🙂

Leave a Reply

